Wednesday October 26, 2016
6:30 – 10:30 PM

At: historic Anderson House
2118 Massachusetts Avenue, NW
Washington, DC, 20008

About the Honoree

This year’s awardee Mr. Philip F. Anschutz, not only represents the essence of the Distinguished German-American Award,  but he also will be the first Volga-German descendant to receive this award.

A native of Russell, Kansas, Mr. Anschutz graduated from the University of Kansas in 1961 with a degree in business. He is owner of The Anschutz Corporation, based in Denver, Colorado. He is a governor of the National Hockey League and Major League Soccer and an executive member of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences.

Mr. Anschutz is a committed philanthropist. He serves as chairman of the board of The Anschutz Foundation; is a trustee of The Kansas University Endowment Association; an emeritus trustee of The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts; a lifetime honorary trustee of The American Museum of Natural History, New York; and an alumnus member of the Smithsonian National Board, Washington, D.C. He has served on boards and committees of various charitable, civic, industry, and financial organizations.

Mr. Anschutz’s grandfather, Carl Anschutz, was a Volga German who emigrated to the United States from Samara, Russia in 1878. In America, he became a businessman and investor. Mr. Anschutz’s great-grandfather, Christian Anschutz, was born in the same province in 1835.

About the Award

The Council of 1000 Award and Fundraising Gala is a tradition that was started 30 years ago to raise awareness and financial support for the German-American Heritage Foundation of the USA® (GAHF). It is the signature event of our Foundation.

During our Council of 1000 Gala, every year since 1987, GAHF has recognized outstanding leadership and achievements by an American of German-speaking ancestry in business, the arts, education, science, politics and society through Distinguished German-American of the Year Award™.

The Gala Committee 2016

We extend our appreciation to this year’s Gala Committee

Rolf Hoffmann
Ron Kosmahl
Michelle Brooks
Erik J. Hotmire
Aaron Lewis
Megan Lott
Naomi Revzin
Stephen Staudigl
J. Marc Wheat
Erika Harms
Christine Yang


We recognize in order of their generous contribution the following sponsors

Platinum Sponsor:

The Anschutz Foundation

Gold Sponsor:

Anschutz Entertainment Group
Dan Beckerman
Ted Fikre
Todd Goldstein
Jay Marciano
Robert Newman
Ted Tanne
Amgen Inc.
Boehm Element Montagen GmbH

Bronze Sponsor:

Colliers International
Dr. John M. & Susan Manoyan and Carol Jean Siegert King
Hardy & Gudrun von Auenmueller
World Heritage Foundation